The Twilight movies follow the epic story of Bella Swan (Kristin Stewart), Edward Cullen (Robert Pattinson) and Jacob Black (Taylor Lautner). Adapted into five romantic fantasy films from Summit Entertainment studios, the movies are based on the four novels by American author Stephenie Meyer and have stayed close to the books, with the characters emotional journeys being the same, with passion, romance and action. A global phenomenon, the series has grossed over $3.3 billion in worldwide receipts.



The classic story of star-crossed lovers. Bella Swan meets the mysterious Edward Cullen, a boy with a dark secret: he's a vampire. Released in November 2008 this film grossed $35.7 million on its opening day. Catherine Hardwicke was hired to direct the film and Melissa Rosenberg was selected to be the screenwriter. Stephenie Meyer visited the set and even had a cameo role. Twilight grossed a total of $384.9 million worldwide in ticket sales and more than $200 million in DVD sales in the four years after the films release.

The Twilight Saga: New Moon


Bella's loyalties are tested as she is drawn into the world of werewolves through her friendship with Jacob. Released in November 2009, with a new director Chris Weitz, this movie broke box office records as the biggest midnight screening and opening day in history, grossing an estimated $72.7m. In this sequel, Taylor Lautner kept his role by working out extensively and putting on thirty pounds to fit the major physical changes that occur in the character of Jacob Black between Twilight and New Moon. Advance ticket sales meant some theatres put on extra showings.

The Twilight Saga: Eclipse


Bella is surrounded by danger as she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob. Released in June 2010 this movie was directed David Slade, with Melissa Rosenberg returning as screenwriter. In this film Bryce Dallas Howard replaced Rachelle Lefevre as Victoria. Jodelle Ferland was cast as the newly turned vampire, Bree. Other new cast members include Xavier Samuel as Riley, Jack Huston as Royce King II, Catalina Sandino Moreno as Maria, Julia Jones as Leah Clearwater, and BooBoo Stewart as Seth Clearwater.

The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1


A marriage, honeymoon and a birth bring unforeseen and shocking developments for Bella, Edward and those they love. Academy Award winner Bill Condon,was director for both parts of Breaking Dawn. The major actors, including the three lead roles, the Cullen family, and Charlie Swan, returned for both parts. The film was released in November 2011.

The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 2


Bella stands alongside Edward as a vampire, but danger is never far away as they face the wrath of the Volturi. Released in November 2012 this is the final movie in the Twilight saga.
A box office hit, the Twilight Saga has mixed critical reviews from the start, though sequels were less well received. USA Today stated “reading the books would be substantially more absorbing”.

Twilight Ultimate Media Collection

Chatting With Stephenie Meyer: Upcoming books, Twilight Anniversary & more!

All four books were made into five movies with Breaking Dawn divided into two parts. Summit Entertainment optioned Twilight in April 2007 and Twilight was released in November 2008. The Twilight Saga: New Moon,was released in November 2009 The Twilight Saga: Eclipse, in February 2010. Breaking Dawn's two-part adaptation was released in November 2011 and November 2012.